top of page

UGP 31 PRESS CONFERENCE


EVENT: UGP 31 Press Conference

VENUE: Southbank Theatre

LOCATION: Melbourne, Australia

DATE: January 14, 2022


[The feed gradually fades into a panoramic view inside the prestigious Southbank Theatre in Melbourne, Australia. Spotlights sweep the room in a multitude of colors, allowing shadows to dance around and take shape of the sold out crowd. The state-of-the-art facility harnesses a digital wall on either side of the spectators, displaying highlight reels of all of the scheduled fighters. On the main stage, there’s a black glossy podium in the center with the trademark Octagon Star logo engraved and flanked on both sides are a long table draped with black felt with the Union GP word mark embroidered in the center.]


[The boisterous crowd begins to dissipate and out walks Dante Reed. He b-lines to the podium and with a wide grin, adjusts the microphone stand to his liking. Just a few seconds later, all of the scheduled fighters begin to make their way on stage. The crowd is roaring at a deafening volume and shows no signs of slowing down. Dante then takes the opportunity and draws in a deep breath before lowering himself closer to the mic.]


DANTE REED

Aussie, Aussie, Aussie!


CROWD

“Oi! Oi! Oi!"


DANTE REED

Aussie, Aussie, Aussie!


CROWD

“Oi! Oi! Oi!"


DANTE REED

Aussie!


CROWD

“Oi!"


DANTE REED

Aussie!


CROWD

“Oi!"


DANTE REED

Aussie, Aussie, Aussie!


CROWD

“Oi! Oi! Oi!"


[The crowd surges with cheers while Dante takes a step back and savors the moment. Again, the crowd is feverish, so Dante decides to simply continue.]


DANTE REED

Ha haaaa! Hell yes! Thank you all for being here, and thank you for the incredible reception we’ve had so far. Being here is a tremendous milestone for Union Grand Prix. Anytime we break ground in a new market, we want to do it big and make sure, at the end of it all, you all leave satisfied. This week has been incredible with the hospitality, and I think it’s safe to say already that we will be making more trips here in the future.


[Dante breaks in the action as the crowd unanimously cheers.]


DANTE REED

It’s the first event of 2022, and we wanted to kick things off with a bang. We have the biggest Lightweight Title fight in history headlining the night, but we also have the return of not one, but two MMA legends. Also, with the biggest venue we’ve ever booked, we get to showcase the talented fighters that Australia has produced. I couldn’t be more excited to announce this card, and believe this will set the tone for the entirety of 2022. So let’s go ahead and open up the Q & A session for you all. Who’s got the first question?


[It doesn’t take long for a middle aged reporter in the first row to shoot his hand up into the air, be called upon, and present his question to the champion at the top of the card.]


ROBERT THOMPSON

Delaney, how are you feeling?


[There’s a moment's hesitation where Delaney chuckles, somewhat, before shrugging his shoulders. As Delaney is about to speak, some of the crowd that is present begins to boo loudly. That’s a new experience for the longest reigning champion, currently, in Union Grand Prix but he shrugs it off with an easy going smile. This was, after all, his opponent's turf.]


DELANEY DONOVAN

I’m fine, thanks for asking. Delighted to be here in Melbourne. Looking forward to a good fight with Alistair. Looking forward to going back to Belfast with the Lightweight Championship still around my waist.


[The boo’s from the crowd grow louder which only causes Delaney’s smile to grow. He’s loving this for the time being.]


ROBERT THOMPSON

That’s good, that’s good. I had to ask because word on the street says that things have been a bit tumultuous in your life in recent times. Care to comment on that and whether or not it will have any effect on you coming into what many are saying is the toughest test of your career.


[Gradually the smile fades and the Lightweight champ dons a much more serious expression.]


DELANEY DONOVAN

Taking nothing away from Alistair. The toughest test of my career so far is clearly Travis Decker. But to answer your question? Yes. Some things have changed. None of it has affected my fight prep, none of it will have any bearing on what’s going to happen once McKay and I are in the cage together. I’m ready. I’ve been ready. I’m looking forward to this.


[With the focus squarely on the champion early on, another reporter pipes in with a question as a follow up.]


THERESA MITCHELL

So you would say that you haven’t considered retiring regardless of the outcome of this fight?


DELANEY DONOVAN

I believe after this fight I’ve got three more left on my deal. I have every intention of honoring and fulfilling that contract. After that? We’ll see where we stand.


[Once more another reporter interjects, the questions coming swiftly now.]


MIKE BROOKS

Some of your detractors think you’re ripe for the picking in this one, that Alistair McKay stylistically is a bad fight and that this could be the last time we see you holding championship gold. Do you have anything to say to those individuals?


DELANEY DONOVAN

I’ve been fighting for Union Grand Prix for years now. I’ve held the Lightweight Championship for years. And every single fight, whether in pursuit of the championship, for the championship, or in defense of the championship people have claimed that it’s a bad fight for me and that I can’t win. They said it about my fight with L’Mo, with JPK, with Bandit, with Bellamy DeSilva, August Pope, Bobby Guilliman. People have been doubting me all along. I spent who knows how many fights being overlooked and underappreciated. That’s still the case today. And when I beat Alistair McKay, it will continue to be the case. And that’s fine. My record, my performance, my accolades, they speak for me. So you can keep doubting me, it’s only costing you money and legitimacy when you bet on the wrong man.


[Delaney looks around and spots one more reporter with their hand raised, nodding at them to give them the go ahead.]


GABRIELLA LACORSI

All that may be true but let’s talk about the future. If you win, what do you see next for yourself? If you lose I think we all know what comes next.


DELANEY DONOVAN

A victory against Alistair would, in my eyes, likely lead to one more defense against Abbie Peterson. I’ve got a lot of respect for her and the way she carries herself. And in truth, I think she’s a lot like me when I was fighting for my place here. I think she’s underappreciated, under respected and under promoted and it would be an honor to share the cage with her. If I manage a defense against Alistair and against Abbie, should that fight come to pass, then there’s really only two fights that I could think would intrigue me any longer. You know, since Hanako isn’t answering my call to step back into the cage. I’d like the second to last fight on my contract, again if things were to follow this course, to be against either Gianna Howard or Dallas Meechan in a catchweight fight at 145. And then the final fight on my contract I’d like to meet Travis Decker in the cage one last time. If all that happens? I think I could walk away satisfied with what I’ve given and helped to build in the mixed martial arts world. I’ll have left a legacy that my daughters can be proud of their dad for.


GABRIELLA LACORSI

So, retirement is something you’re considering, as someone asked earlier?


DELANEY DONOVAN

A lot of things have to happen before that’s something that is genuinely on the table. But if everything played out the way I just spoke of? Yeah…. Yeah.


[Alistair Mckay has kept quiet throughout Delaney’s questions, giving the odd nod but not taking the attention away. One of the reporters decides to engage him themselves as they stand and ask him the first question.]


GREG DENNIS

Alistair, how do you feel about the champ making all of these possible plans banking on your defeat?


[Alistair lets out a laugh before shaking his head and sitting forward.]


ALISTAIR MCKAY

Come on mate, if you’re gonna try and stir up beef you’ve gotta try harder than that. To answer your question though, I feel like its a thing that every fighter, especially a champion of Delaney’s caliber, would think about. What, you think he’s gonna come out like…


[Alistair proceeds to speak in a very bad Irish accent.]


ALISTAIR MCKAY

“Oh yeah, so when Alistair beats my arse and takes my title here are my plans?”


[The crowd cringes as Ali mouths an apology to Delaney.]


ALISTAIR MCKAY

No, no one is doing that. He has been the champion of this division for like a thousand years so at this point why wouldn’t he make plans? Sure, I intend to drastically change those plans, but that's another matter.


[Another reporter stands up as Greg sits down.]


KELLY SMITH

Alistair, while you are always confident going into fights, this time you’ll be fighting in front of your hometown. Has that affected your mindset or training in any way, and do you think it could play a factor in the fight?


ALISTAIR MCKAY

First off, I just wanna say that it is fucking amazing to be able to fight at home, especially for my first UGP title shot in the main event. Being able to train with your team in your own gym is something that you really don’t think about how good it is until you’re doing it, you know? So yeah, my camp has been fantastic, I couldn’t ask for anything better. As for mindset, well in my own opinion I ain’t got the luxury to look ahead. I’m staring down the barrel of the best lightweight fighter in the world and that requires every ounce of my attention if I wanna take that championship from him. The home crowd is gonna help with that, top up my energy and all that, but I don’t think it's gonna really play a factor. Delaney’s a pro so it's not like he’s gonna be slipping cause he’s not getting cheers. It's more just a nice bonus for me.


KELLY SMITH

In that case what do you think is gonna play a factor? How do you feel you match up against Delaney?


ALISTAIR MCKAY

Honestly, I feel I match up well. Delaney is known for his tenacity and his rock hard chin, so getting a chance to test that is exciting as hell for me. I feel like it's not a stretch to say that I have the hardest shots in the lightweight division, so if he’s gonna be tested its gonna be by me. But, its just like the champ said: matching up on paper don’t mean shit once that cage door closes. It all comes down to the fight. That said, make no mistake, I fully intend on taking Delaney’s head off and ending a godlike reign. No pressure, right?


[Alistair chuckles as the reporter sits down, the challenger sitting back in his chair. Attention now turns to the other Melbourne native on this card as a reporter stands to address Michael Santos.]


ANDY REAGAN

Michael Santos, as another hometown boy on this card, have you felt the same way when it comes to prep?


MICHAEL SANTOS

Somewhat. Ali and I are lucky enough to have fought on home soil in Sydney for our last fight, which isn’t quite home but it's damn close. To get back to back fights in your own country in a company based in the US is rare, and it is great getting the sleep in your own bed, train in your own gym. But there is an inherent trap there. When abroad you are always on it, the only comfort is the one you create so you are always on your toes, always working. I was very careful to avoid getting too comfortable or complacent, especially considering while I did win my last fight against Devlin, I was one uppercut away from it going the other direction. This fight against Jose’ is incredibly important, so I have to be as good as I can be.


[Andy sits down as another takes his place.]


RICHARD LEE

Speaking of it being important, there has been a quiet rumor going around regarding your future in MMA. Care to comment on that?


MICHAEL SANTOS

You know what? Sure. I intended to do this after the fight but I may as well rip off the bandaid. I have 2 fights left on my contract for UGP, and after I fight them I will be stepping away from MMA. I have absolutely loved the time I've spent as an MMA fighter, and it is an experience I will never forget, but when you know, you know. It is not due to injury or any issue with management, it's just a decision I have made. So to that end, not only do I want to put on the best damn fights I can, but I wanna go out with 2 more wins on my record.


RICHARD LEE

Well… with that being the case, who do you see as the last fight in your MMA career? You’ve gone up against some of the best, and there are a lot of great fighters in the division.


MICHAEL SANTOS

Well best case scenario and I beat Jose, then what I want is one more crack at Gauge. We had a great fight and he got the better of me in our first go around, but I know I can take him. He’s the champion for a reason and I want one last chance to prove that I am at that level before I step away.


If I lose against Jose, then I want Arden. The dude has had my number twice, and not only do I want my chance at getting a tick in the W column against him, but I could not think of another guy besides the champ I’d want my last fight to be against. So that's it.


[The reporter sits down as Michael sits back from the microphone. A female stands in the middle of the pack of reporters and turns her attention towards Jason Jackson. He sees her coming from a mile away and removes his sunglasses, giving her a cheeky grin.]


JASON JACKSON

Why, yes. Yes, I am going to kick Vik Volkov’s ass this weekend. Thanks for asking.


[There’s a chuckle that fills the room as Jason shoots a look down the table at his opponent, giving him the ol’ finger guns. Pew pew. The reporter stifles a laugh and continues on, unflinching.]


SOPHIA MORALES

No, I was actually going to ask if you think rust is going to be a factor? Jason, you’ve been retired for a few years now. I mean, there have been reports that you’ve been training a little, but how much has that been? It’s all a mystery that you’re returning like this and now we can’t really keep track because you got your Twitter permanently banned.


[Jason shrugs and gives her a “golf” clap, laughing a bit at her quip about twitter.]


JASON JACKSON

That’s a very good question. I guess we’ll find out if I’m rusty or not. But mystery? I don’t think so. If you watch these previous UGP events that I’ve done commentary on? You could tell I’ve been missing the game and that I wanted to get back out there. It was just all a matter of when. Who was going to light that fire that got me off the couch? Unfortunately, for Mr. Volkov, it was him. I was hesitant. I won’t lie. I took some time off and I left with a loss. So there was some doubt there for sure about if I could still go. That’s what didn’t sit right with me though, is the fact that I left with a loss. The biggest loss of my career, at that; and worse of all I was left doubting MYSELF. So, I set out to work on fixing that hole in my game. Roscoe Robinson beat me with a choke that put me to sleep, so for this fight? For my return? I trained with the man who beat me, to better myself as a martial artist. As for Twitter, they’re some snowflakes who can’t handle a bit of violent threatening of bodily injury. That’s all.


[Quite a few of the reporters look shocked. Jason shrugs nonchalantly, and takes a drink of his solo cup in front of him. Contents unknown.]


SOPHIA MORALES

I’m sorry, did you just say you and Roscoe Robinson TRAINED together for this fight? Like, legitimately co-existed and TRAINED together?


[Jason nods and picks up the microphone, tapping on it a few times before lifting it closer to his mouth as if she was hard of hearing.]


JASON JACKSON

Uh, yeah. Uh huh. Exactly that. [He gives her a big thumbs up.] Nailed it. Go you, uh, what was your name?


[She suddenly realizes that she never told him her name and shakes her head, clearly embarrassed. Jason is just glad she didn’t dig deeper into the “threats of bodily injury” part.]


SOPHIA MORALES

Sophia. Sophia Morales, I’m with MMA Weekly.


JASON JACKSON

Well Sophia, I’m Jason Jackson. Nice to meet you. Some people call me “Big Rig”, others call me “daddy” or “bastard” or “son of a bitch” but now that we’ve got these delayed pleasantries out of the way, allow me to reiterate for the class. Yes, Roscoe and I trained together for quite some months in preparation for this fight, and it was one of the best camps of my career, if I’m being honest. He was the last person I was in the cage with. He found a weak spot in my armor, and he attacked it. Why not train with him? Why not sharpen my skills with the fighter that took me to my limit? You’d be a fool not to. We were talking one night after a UGP show, and I mentioned that I’d like to train with him, and that I respected his ability as a fighter. It all kinda went from there. It’s funny. I was having dinner with a few of the Hit Squad crew the other night, and we were laughing about how it all kinda had a Rocky and Apollo Creed feel to it. I think they legitimately made each other better, and Roscoe and I made each other better during this camp and we continue to do so. So now I have to go out here and fight this Russian like Rocky IV and be the Polynesian Stallion or Apollo Robinson might choke me the fuck out again.


[There’s another round of laughs that fill the room and another reporter stands, flagging down Jason. He’s a rotund fellow with a big mustache and suspenders.]


HENRY BROWN

Jason, quick word. My name is Henry Brown. I was just curious if this is a one time thing or are you going to be back full time or….


[Jason laughs and shrugs at him, blowing a raspberry with his lips.]


JASON JACKSON

Pfffffft. Hell if I know, Henry Brown. I guess we’ll see how it goes. I’m not a fortune teller. But I will tell you that you have some cool suspenders, uce.


[Henry gives him a smile and holds up his finger as if to say “One more question.” Jason nods, likely because of the cool suspenders.]


HENRY BROWN

Are you going to be looking to slug it out. I mean in the past you were never one to shy away from trading some shots, but after being on the shelf for a while maybe it’s safer if you...


[Jason laughs and looks like he could possibly be mulling over the answer, clearly bluffing.]


JASON JACKSON

What? If I what? Shy away from a gun fight? Hm.. I mean, I HAVE been working on my grappling a lot and I could just take him down and lay on him for a few rounds. Then I can retire with a W, and it’ll be all good. What?! No. HENRYYY. Of course I’m going to go out here and put this walking tree from Lord of the Rings to sleep. That’s a silly question Henry Brown. Viktor Volkov is going to remember the R.I.P days when I lay him to rest. You may not get that, but he will. Look at his face. He gets it. Just remember you called me out. Bad choice Vikki-boy. Because SOMEONE is going to the hospital. You know it’s true. It’s just who we are. Warriors. We play for blood. These motherfuckers don’t even know the kind of fight they are in store for this weekend. But you do.


[Jason looks down the table again, and mouths the words “I’m your huckleberry.” as he places the mic back down, taunting him to say something to give the crowd a show. Not far from one returning fighter, sits the other one, and as Paige listens to Jason Jackson, in particular, she just starts chuckling, shaking her head side to side at the other CGFC alumnus’s antics. She starts to settle back to her seat, but a reporter in the front row catches the Australian’s attention, and she sits up a little straighter.]


???

Ryan Smith, just a quick question for you Paige, similar to something that was asked of Jason just a minute ago--it’s been at least, what...two, three years since we’ve seen you in a cage, and I know you’ve mentioned in the past you were helping to train the newer crop of Throne fighters, is that what led you to want to get back into competition?


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

Yeah, absolutely. Watching Gianna climb up the ranks, helping Guns get ready for her fights, being in corners for everybody, I was always around the fighters, I’d just took that step back from actually competing, and...y’know, honestly, I thought I was done. When CGFC shut up shop, when Slaughterhouse Fights folded, I didn’t really expect to start really fighting again, but the more I watched the fights, the more time I spent coaching or cornering or training, I got that...heh, it feels kinda cliche to say it this way, but that itch to compete again, y’know?


[Ryan nods, but doesn’t interrupt right away.]


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

Then, it was...it musta been ahead of the September show, I was able to get a minute to talk to Dante about wanting to compete again, and it went from a possibility, to a contract...pretty damn quick, if I’m honest.


RYAN SMITH

One more question, what led you to want to compete at 155, instead of 135? Was it your teammate holding the Bantamweight Title by the time you signed, or...


[Paige chuckles a little and rocks her head back, sighing as she considers her answer.]


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

No offense meant, mate, but that tells me you're not wholly familiar with my career. I think I’ve fought just about every professional fighter Throne has, bar Marissa Kane herself. I’ve never had any issue standing across the cage from teammates, we understand what’s going on between those horns; no, honestly, I signed to the Lightweight division for two reasons. First, and really the more important one, is the competition level; don’t get me wrong, there’s no slouches at Bantamweight either, but Lightweight has been consistently...you could argue the most competitive division in the company. Delaney’s kept a chokehold on that title, no question, but the people that have stepped up to try to take it from him, they’d be world champions at any other time in their careers. If I was gonna come back, I wanted to test myself against them.


RYAN SMITH

And the other reason?


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

Heh...


[Again, Paige can’t help but laugh a little, shrugging as she admits.]


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

Honestly? I didn’t want to cut weight, either. I make 155 pretty comfortably, and...my whole career, up to this point, was basically openweight. I fought men twice my size and women I had a foot of reach on, and I never really concerned myself with it. And yeah, technically, there’s a weight limit in place here, but I’m not really pushing it like I’d have to push myself to make 135 pounds. It’s not something I’ve really ever had to do, and...I’d rather fight at the weight I’m comfortable at.


[Ryan at least seems satisfied with the answers, and nods as he sits back down, only to be almost immediately replaced by a woman a few rows further back, who pops up to her feet with an arm in the air. Paige looks a bit taken aback by her energy, but nods toward the woman.]


???

Ashley Reynolds, Queensland MMA...


[Almost immediately, there’s some playful jeering from some of the journalists around the young woman, which she just rolls her eyes and dismisses--on the stage, though, Paige smiles and pumps a fist just once.]


ASHLEY REYNOLDS

I wanted to ask one more of the...I guess, sentimental questions, then actually get to the fight itself.


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

Yeah, of course.


ASHLEY REYNOLDS

What does it mean to you to debut here in Australia?


[Paige grins and nods her head a little bit, brushing the hair out of her face as she muses over her thoughts.]


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

I’m not so...frankly, up myself as to believe this card had anything to do with me, but I love that my first fight with Union is here in Australia. I love that I could be...


[A thought occurs to the former CGFC Dragon Champion, as she glances over her shoulder at the Head Honcho himself.]


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

The first one in the cage this weekend?


[She shrugs her shoulders a little bit, knowing there’s more to it than just her request, and turns her attention right back to Ashley.]


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

I love fighting here. I love the fans that fill these arenas, I love the crazy ass energy they bring to the fights. I love everything about being home, so getting to debut for Union here, getting to open the show, getting to set the stage for the wild people that are gonna pack out the Docklands, it’s...yeah, it’s hard to sum up what it means for me, but I love that I get that chance.


ASHLEY REYNOLDS

Fair enough, let’s...let’s switch gears a little bit, actually talk about the task at hand: you’re debuting against a fighter that’s starting to build some steam at 155, in Osvaldo Ledesma, can I just get your thoughts on that matchup first?


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

I actually love this matchup. Osvaldo’s shown a lot of skill in the past couple fights, in particular--getting that win back against Zamara, y’know, he struggled early but managed to come back to win with a pretty impressive couple rounds. Then there’s the fight with Xabier, a very different kind of win, that grinding style, he’s got a lot of talent, he’s a well rounded fighter, and...like I said, the Lightweight division is full of people that feel like they’re on the cusp of a breakout. Like, anyone in this division could be the next big name, so...yeah, I’m looking forward to seeing what he’s got. It’s definitely an interesting matchup for a first fight under the Union banner.


ASHLEY REYNOLDS

I don’t think it surprises many people that, in general, Osvaldo seems to prefer fights on the feet, but...that seems to play right into your style of fight. Which raises the question, coming back from a...extended layoff, let’s call it, is there any hesitancy in going out for that kind of fight, like we saw in CGFC?


[Paige shakes her head negatively, before the question’s even finished.]


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

None. None whatsoever. If I didn’t think I was ready, I wouldn’t be on this stage, I wouldn’t be signed, I wouldn’t have wasted my time or Dante’s time--this isn’t some one-and-done thing, I’m not looking for a little bit of time on camera again. I want to get to the top of this division. So no, I have no problem going out there and getting right back to work after...however long it’s been, I have no problem showing Osvaldo and this entire division that, if anything, I’m better in 2022, than I was when I won the Dragon’s Way. I expect this fight plays out a lot like those CGFC fights, I expect this fight is a lot of the pair of us trying to knock each other’s heads off--so the question I’d ask is, how’d that play out then? What happened, more often than not, in those CGFC fights? I’m not saying it to sound tough, I’m not saying it for the sake of a sound byte later, I honestly think I’m better now than I’ve ever been...so standing up with me? That’s a dangerous proposition for Osvaldo.


[Paige pulls her water bottle up from under the table, taking a swig from it before finishing her thought.]


PAIGE HOLLOWAY

Like I said...I’m not here for attention, I’m here to get back to fighting. I’m here to get to the top of 155 pounds--this weekend is the first fight back, the first step to get there, and if I get my way, I cap it off with a knockout.


[The Aussie shrugs her shoulders as Ashley nods and sits back down. Paige’s eyes scan the room, but eventually she seems content that she’s answered all the questions, and settles back in her seat. Meanwhile, down at her end of the table, Isabel Azevedo takes the press conference about as seriously as she does anything else: with a smile on her face, and more than a few nods as she listens to the various other fighters tell their stories and thoughts. Behind the casually dressed Brazilian is a man in a full suit, who occasionally leans down to talk to her without trying to interrupt the proceedings; in fact, it’s he that draws “A Maravilha’s” attention to a reporter, who’s turned their attention to her.]


???

Andrea Thompson, Black Belt Magazine, question for Isabel--obviously, this is a rematch of a fight from last year, that...well, bluntly, didn’t go your way. The last fight was a pretty comfortable decision victory for Tim, I’m curious if that’s been any kind of added motivation, coming into this fight for you, especially as you come to Tim’s home country this weekend.


[At once, the man behind Izzi’s purpose becomes clear--he translates the reporter’s question to the Brazilian, who smiles and nods as she lifts her mic up. Once she starts to speak, the feed adds subtitles for the benefit of those who don’t speak Portuguese.]


ISABEL AZEVEDO

(Of course, it wasn’t a great feeling, losing that fight, but...it was the right decision. Tim was the better fighter that night. As much as I’d like to, I can’t argue that, so all I could do was go back to the gym, get back into training, and work my way back up. I think I came back pretty well against Lilly Dunne, but now, we’ve got a chance to have this fight again. The fact that it’s in his home makes for a different atmosphere, but it doesn’t change the preparation for the fight; I’ve watched that fight back so many times, I’ve done everything I can to prepare for the way Tim fights, so...ultimately, I can only hope I’ve improved enough in the past few months that I can change the result this time.)


ANDREA THOMPSON

I think the biggest thing that stood out in your first fight was you seemed to lose a lot of steam going into the third round; that’s not even meant to be a knock, Tim had landed some big shots and you were still coming forward, but that raises the question of how to prevent that from happening again...


[The translator again explains the question to Izzi, whose smile fades for a moment...but only a moment, as she bobs her head from side to side.]


ISABEL AZEVEDO

(Don’t let him kick me in the head?)


[The Brazilian can’t help but giggle at the simplistic nature of the critique, then shrugs and continues her thought.]


ISABEL AZEVEDO

(I don’t want anyone to think I have anything but respect for Tim; he’s an incredible fighter, and I don’t want to make it sound like it’s that simple to fix what went wrong in that first fight. I said it a moment ago, and I’ll say it again, Tim was the better fighter that night. He did everything he had to do to get the advantage. Coming into this fight, it’s been less about necessarily focusing on what he did in the last fight, but focusing more on what I should’ve done. I was reckless in the first fight, I let too much get by, I didn’t set up my punches or my takedowns as well I should’ve, and...more often than not, Tim punished me for it, so that’s been a big focus: tightening up my defense, getting my technique right, and focusing on making the fight go the way I want it to, rather than letting him dictate it.)


ANDREA THOMPSON

You two are currently ranked #2 and #3 in the Bantamweight division, respectively; we know Gianna Howard’s first defense of the title is going to be against Dallas Meechan in that rematch; with that in mind, do you think you only need to win this fight to set up a title shot for yourself?


ISABEL AZEVEDO

(I think that’s the obvious thing, yes--one way or the other, #1 is going to lose, and either #2 or #3 will win, so it seems to line up pretty perfectly in this case. But there’s a lot of moving pieces there--not least of which is Lena and Yasmine’s fight in a few weeks. Lena wins that and stakes a decent claim for a title shot herself, so, there’s a lot of things that need to happen before I start thinking about Gianna or Dallas, but...yeah, I think the winner of this fight has a pretty solid claim to the next title fight.)


[Once the translator passes Izzi’s message along, Andrea nods and takes her seat again. Izzi has a brief discussion with her translator, before another reporter stands up and waves her down.]


???

Billy Carr, MMAJunkie--you and Tim are coming off very different results in your last fights; there’s no small number of people who thought Lauren Moore did enough to beat Tim in their fight in October, even though he ultimately got his hand raised, where your last fight was a pretty dominant submission win over Lilly Dunne. Do you think that gives you any extra momentum, coming into this fight?


ISABEL AZEVEDO

(I’m not really sure, especially since my fight with Lilly was six or seven months ago, now. It was certainly a boost to get that kind of win, coming off my first professional loss, but as far as momentum goes? It’s hard to say, and honestly? I’m more focused on being better than I was last time against Tim, than thinking about something that’s hard to account for.)


BILLY CARR

Actually, that brings me to another point--what led to that layoff, was there something going on that just never became public knowledge, or...?


[Izzi shakes her head negatively once she’s posed the question by the translator, shrugging her shoulders as she explains her side of things.]


ISABEL AZEVEDO

(To be honest, I was in a weird sort of limbo--Tim was climbing the ranks until he ran into Gianna, and I might argue that kept me from getting a fight against anyone ranked above me, and the new signings to the division, the Everest fighters that moved up, hadn’t quite made the impression they needed to start fighting opponents in the top half of the division, so it led to me not really having a clear-cut opponent. It is what it is, ultimately, it didn’t change my training plans--I was in the gym every day, I was focused on getting better, so when I had a fight again, I’d be focused, I’d be prepared, I’d be ready to put on a show again. That I get the chance to try to get this win back is even better.)


BILLY CARR

There was a charming moment after the fight between you and Tim, where he had to acknowledge that flying omoplata you tried in the first round; give us a hint, do you have anything like that in your pocket for this fight?


[Izzi sets her mic down and has to cover her mouth to contain a giggle fit as she remembers Tim’s reaction to that attempt--both in the fight, and the Twitter exchange afterward. Exaggeratedly, the Brazilian puts her arms out in a shrug, beaming a grin as she lifts the mic back up.]


ISABEL AZEVEDO

(I can’t ruin the surprise like that! You gotta come watch the fight and see. Who knows, maybe, just maybe, I’ll catch it this time.)


[Izzi exaggeratedly winks, a beaming grin still on her face as she glances out to the audience. With nobody else trying to catch her attention, she sets her mic down. Just as Izzi lets her mic down Ashley Reynolds gets back on the microphone to ask a couple of questions. This time she directs her attention towards Osvaldo Ledesma, who has been sitting with his legs up the table trying not to get noticed all along.]


ASHLEY REYNOLDS

Osvaldo…


[The mere mention of his name startled him as he wasn’t really expecting to get any attention, not with the amount of Australians in this card and it being in Australia. He was really expecting just to be there and be a body for a fight and that to be it for him. Yet he came back to himself and paid attention to Reynolds’ question.]


ASHLEY REYNOLDS

So far in your career, you’ve been in nothing but tough fights. This one seems to be no different. How do you feel being the one to welcome Paige Holloway back into MMA?


[Ledesma takes a look at Paige who just smiles at him as he smiles back and then gives a smile to the journalist as he answers the question.]


OSVALDO LEDESMA

Let’s answer your question in parts. Yes, I feel I have been in nothing but tough fights since my debut here in UGP and that has contributed greatly to my not-so-stellar record. Which in part I feel contributed to the fact that I’m the one welcoming Paige back into the fold…


[Ledesma gave a second or two while shrugging as he continues.]


OSVALDO LEDESMA

But that doesn’t mean I don’t welcome it. This is what I feel I was born to do. I like fighting, I liked fighting even before I became a fighter. The fact that I get paid to do what I like doing, is just the icing on the cake for me; you feel me?


[Osvaldo takes a deep breath as he continues.]


OSVALDO LEDESMA

See, while others might scurry away and hesitate to take a fight against Holloway, knowing her credentials; knowing her history in the sport. Knowing that their style of fighting just plays perfectly into the style of fighting she prefers… I relish that opportunity. These are the kind of fights I fight for. Sure, titles are fun and all that; but you heard the champ… now he wants fights that motivate him to get out of bed and into the gym. This fight, for me, does that. So I’m excited for the fight, I want the bell to ring and I want to fight.


[After Osvaldo answered Reynolds’ question, Henry Brown quickly got his ass out of the seat he was and took to the microphone.]


HENRY BROWN

Osvaldo, you alluded to your not-so-stellar record so far in UGP. In fact, you aren’t really all that great in your last few bouts. Some of those were controversial decisions by the judges, according to many. Do those results affect you in any sort of way?


[Ledesma ponders on the question for a couple of seconds. Losing controversial decisions isn’t fun, and he knows it. The fact that keeps being brought up by members of the media doesn’t help, either. So he takes a moment to compose before he answers the best way he can.]


OSVALDO LEDESMA

Man… losing like that sucks, doesn’t it?


[Osvaldo chuckles as he lowers his head and regains composure before continuing.]


OSVALDO LEDESMA

Shit happens. This is MMA, this isn’t a team sport and you can only control what you do once that cage door closes. I cannot sit here and say how judges should do their jobs… even if we’re seeing some bonkers decisions as of late. Sure, my record and earnings might take a hit because of them… but what can you do? The fact you guys see those losses as controversial, and the higher-ups still have me employed here… tells you everything you need to know about that situation.


[Ledesma goes to put his microphone down, but Andy Reagan got back up and fired a question towards him.]


ANDY REAGAN

Before you go back to doing whatever you were doing… Ledesma. With the lightweight division being wide open, in terms of contenders… seeing how dominant Delaney Donovan has been as a champion. Where do you see yourself at the end of the year?


[Ledesma chuckles and grabs the microphone back.]


OSVALDO LEDESMA

With a lot of luck… a title fight?


[Ledesma smirks at the lightweights at the press conference before shrugging and giving his honest answer.]


OSVALDO LEDESMA

That’s a tough task to be fair. I have a tough fight against Paige, you have McKay, Donovan, Peterson, Costa, and other killers in this division. For me to sit here and say that “at the end of the year I’ll be champion”... it’s stupid. So I will say, that at the end of the year, I hope to have a better record than I have now… that’s obtainable… right?


[Osvaldo puts his microphone down, seeing as all the attention has gone to the other side of the stage where a large “crack” sound has overtaken the attention of everyone. It’s José Meléndez who… somehow just got a bag of hard shell tacos to eat on stage. Dante gives José a look, while Santos can’t help but laugh at José’s “WHAT?” look at Dante. This obviously gets the attention of the media members here who jump in to ask José some questions.]


KELLY SMITH

By the looks of things, José, you don’t look to be scared of the scale at all. But are you nervous about your fight? I mean, the fact that you’re in Michael Santos’ country… with all the fans against you must do something.


[José gulps the bite he took of the Taco as Kelly made her question and asks for a moment to regain his breath.]


JOSE MELENDEZ

My g… if there are tacos, José Meléndez is NEVER in hostile territory. In fact, I feel ‘am with my FAMILIA here in Melbourne!


[The statement gets a cheer from the crowd as Meléndez continues.]


JOSE MELENDEZ

Yes, ‘am not scared about the scale at all, I mean… the reason I fight at the weight I fight is that I like eatin’ too much to just not eat. In fact, Melbourne is my familia so much so… that I’ve been eatin’, drinkin’ an’ ‘avin’ one hell of a time with the fans who have been attendin’ the meet an’ greets an’ all those stuff.


[It seemed as if Smith was about to ask José a follow-up, but the man raised up his taco as if to ask for a moment from her.]


JOSE MELENDEZ

Look I get it, you might be thinkin’ ‘am takin’ my opponent lightly… but this is me. ‘Am not sayin’ Michael isn’t a tough fighter… he is. ‘Am not sayin’ this isn’t a rough day at the office… because it is. ‘Am just sayin’ that if you take life too seriously you’re gonna die too youn’ an’ I ‘ave too much to eat in this life to die youn’. If people are expectin’ me to be shittin’ my pants goin’ into this fight, ‘am not. That is all, nerves you’ll always ‘ave when you are doin’ somethin’ on your own; but if you prepared well, if you ‘ave fun doin’ it… there’s no reason for bein’ crippled by nerves.


[Seemingly that last bit answered Smith’s questions as she moves back to her seat, giving someone else a shot at a question. Sure enough, a random fan got up and walked towards the microphones; while José took another big bite of the taco.]


???

José… I don’t work for any media or thing, I just wanted to ask you about the comments from Michael Santos that this will be one of the final fights of his career.


[For some reason, THAT made José put down the taco and get serious for a bit. In fact the change was so palpable that even his face changed after the statement by the fan.]


JOSE MELENDEZ

Look, let’s get serious for a bit ‘ere. Michael, if this is what your heart desires… ‘am glad to share the cage with you in front of your home crowd. ‘Am glad to be one of the final stretch of your career an’ I’d like to congratulate you on a great career. I know you didn’t get exactly where you wanted, but that’s life man. You should be proud of what you accomplished an’ be sure that ‘am gonna honor your career an’ give you the respect you deserve inside that cage; givin’ you a fight to remember.


[Meléndez grabbed back what’s left of the taco and showed it to Michael as he continued.]


JOSE MELENDEZ

An’ look man… know that you’re invited for tacos any time you want… on me!


[Another cheer from the fans for Meléndez as Santos nodded smiling. From that, another journalist came to the microphone and asked Melédez a question.]


GREG DENNIS

Similar to other fighters on this card, you’re at a crossroads in your career. Where do you see yourself going after this fight, José?


[Meléndez finished the taco he started eating, it took him this long because he was answering questions in the interim. He then looks at the crowd and shrugs.]


JOSE MELENDEZ

To the nearest Taco Shop? Y’know how hungry we get after a fight?


[The answer almost got the reporter angry at Meléndez, how simply laughed and followed up with the answer the journalist wanted to hear.]


JOSE MELENDEZ

Don’t be so serious, you’ll die youn’... for the record, who the hell knows where ‘am goin’ next. As lon’ as I get to fight an’ ‘ave fun… I’ll be fine.


[With that Meléndez put his hand inside the bag and dragged another taco out, but before anyone could say anything else to him; Richard Lee got back to the microphone and quickly grabbed Tim Vu’s attention.]


RICHARD LEE

Tim…


[Just the mention of Tim’s name elicits a cheer from the local crowd, Tim simply smiles at the reaction and waits for Lee to asks away.]


RICHARD LEE

This is your first fight on home soil. How does it feel?


[The crowd cheers him on and Tim can only laugh and smile. He taps on his chest a couple of times and points to the crowd before he grabs the microphone to answer.]


TIM VU

It feels great!


[Another roaring cheer from the crowd follows as Tim continues.]


TIM VU

From the very moment I signed the dotted line to fight at Triumph FC I’ve dreamt about a day like today. Hell, ever since I put on my first pair of gloves I’ve dreamt about a day like this. All I’ve ever wanted to do is represent… now I have that opportunity. I can walk out with the flag of the country that adopted my parents, that adopted my parent’s friends… back in the 70’s. I want to show these people what they meant to my parents, what they mean to me… to my history.


[Vu takes a break before he breaks down, the crowd simply cheers him on as he continues.]


TIM VU

I know these fans deserved a title fight from me, that was the fight I dreamt of… but it doesn’t matter. I’m here, right now. I’m gonna put on a show for these people and I’m going to do everything in my power to make MY people proud of who we are, and where we come from.


[Sophia Morales jumps right after Vu answered his question and fires her question as quickly as she can.]


SOPHIA MORALES

Not to be that person… but your last fight didn’t go the way you planned as you alluded to. What changes, if any, have you made for this fight?


[Vu tilts his head as fans boo Sophia after the question. Tim smiles and answers the question.]


TIM VU

Look, last time around my head wasn’t all there. Kudos to Gianna, she took advantage of her moments and ran away with the fight. I say my head wasn’t all IN THAT fight, because I thought I had done enough to get a title shot; so I felt slighted when I didn’t get it. I was pissed, to be honest. Gianna fought her fight and she went on to become what I wanted to be myself… so respect to her; she did what she was supposed to. To answer your question, mentality… that’s what changes now. I will do what I can to control the things I CAN control and let go of those I can’t control. That’s the biggest change I see.


[Seemingly content with his answer, Sophia went back to her chair… while Ryan Smith gets back to his feet and fires a question at Tim.]


RYAN SMITH

This is your second fight against Isabel Azevedo; what do you think she might change from the last fight to this one?


[Tim smirks and takes a look at Isabel as he prepares his answer.]


TIM VU

She won’t try stupid submissions?


[Tim laughs as Izzi shrugs giving him a smile.]


TIM VU

Jokes aside, I feel she’ll come in more composed. Looking to do the simple things, but do them well. I half expect another fucking flying Omoplata… but maybe she won’t try it out of nowhere like last time. This time around, I know I will not squeak by with doing the least and getting the W… I know I might have to bring my A game; especially if I want a title shot in the near future.


[Ryan didn’t get back to his seat and saw an opportunity to shot a follow-up question.]


RYAN SMITH

Speaking of which, assuming Gianna remains the champion if you get a title shot. How do you see a rematch with her going?


[A deep breath from Tim and an answer comes out of his mouth.]


TIM VU

IF… and that’s a big if… I get the W against Izzi in this upcoming fight; and IF… the higher ups think I have what it takes to be next in line. I know I should not fall into her trap. She has shown so far in her career that she has an elite ability to be a counter striker. She lures you into that trap and there have been few fighters that have been able to break the puzzle. I know everyone believes I gave her the toughest challenge under the Union umbrella, this side of her defeat to Elliot McMillan… but I felt like she made me fight HER fight. I must not do the same, so it’s hard to predict how an actual fight would go; but I know this is what I might need to do.


[After a few moments of silence, it appears that all of the reporters in attendance have received all of the answers they needed with the fighters on stage.]


DANTE REED

Is that it, everybody?


[Dante scans the crowd one last time and doesn't see any reporters burning for questions.]


DANTE REED

Alright folks. Thank you all for coming out tonight! We'll see you all at the fights!


[The crowd cheers one last time at the PA system flips on some generic music and the lights begin to slowly turn on. The feed gradually fades out, leaving only the Network Logo visible for the final shot.]

26 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page